Keeney`s Corner

A current and reflective discussion of cattle breeding from outside the registered mainstream

HomeUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 

Trait Priorities

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
SOWBOY

PostSubject: Trait Priorities   Sat Sep 25, 2010 12:11 am

Trait Priorities: With the exception of my USMC stint from 1961- 1968, I have been doing this animal breeding thing since 1955. Attempting to analyze my learned methods has been some of my recent reflections. My high school "fatstock" judging coach suggested that when traveling we should evaluate every animal viewed along the by-ways of east central Illinois. Presently I have a type in mind that must exist so as to proceed to further evaluations. Skeletal balance and ease ease of movement is where it starts for me. Hopefully I can continue this discussion as we progress.
Back to top Go down
PatB

PostSubject: Re: Trait Priorities   Sat Sep 25, 2010 8:31 am

Major trait is disposition follow by fertility (weans acceptable calf). Then comes secondary traits, feet, legs, udder, appearance, growth, do-ability(survive under my management style).
Back to top Go down
EddieM

PostSubject: Re: Trait Priorities   Sat Sep 25, 2010 3:04 pm

Hello all and thanks to Mike for his efforts to advance thought. Ability to replicate is a key trait that I am still trying to figure if it is a trait that can be selected or bred. I've discussed the small cow with Mike that seems to do everything well but then the years go by and no daughter replaces her. Like the question of EXT and no sons every able to replace him. Was he that useful after all without an ability to replicate himself?
Back to top Go down
SOWBOY

PostSubject: Re: Trait Priorities   Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:45 pm

EddieM wrote: